New Davis Cup Format Explained

Tennisfansite Intro
Tennisfansite Intro

Davis Cup will be played under the new format in 2019.  Response to the new format has been mixed.

Here’s how it works in a nutshell.

  • 24 teams will vie for 12 spots (qualifiers) in the Finals that will take place in November. The losing teams will move on to Zone Group competition.
  • These 12 qualifiers, 4 semifinalists from the previous year, and 2 wildcard entries will compete in the Final in November.
  • These 18 teams will face off in six round-robin groups of threeThe six group winners, and the two second-place teams with the best records, will move on to the quarterfinals
  • From that quarterfinals, competition will be single elimination to decide the Davis Cup winner.

Leave a Reply