6 Things You Need To Know About Dubai Tennis Championships

Dubai Tennis Championships is an outdoor tournament owned by Dubai Duty-Free and is held in Dubai, United Emirates on outdoor courts. Dubai Duty-Free is a company responsible for duty-free operations at the Dubai International Airport and Al Maktoum International Airport.

Dubai Tennis Championships hosts both men’s and women’s events. Until 2021, the event offered equal prize money to men and women.

The tournament was first held in 1993 as an ATP 250 event. It was upgraded to an ATP 500 event in 2001. The WTA event alternate between WTA 500 and WTA 1000 every year.

The court speed is considered medium fast, very similar to the surface at Shanghai Masters and the Swiss Indoors. Roger Federer found great success on this surface winning 8 titles on this surface.

In 2009, the tournament attracted controversy after it denied a visa to Israeli player Shahar Peer because the United Arab Emirates did not have a diplomatic relationship with Israel at the time. The move was widely condemned by the top players.

Most titles

  • Men – Roger Federer (8 titles)
  • Women – Justine Henin (4 titles)
(Visited 24 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply