History of The Wimbledon Championships

Wimbledon is tennis’ most prestigious tournament. With lush green lawns and almost all-white clothing, the tournament is the cathedral of tennis.

Wimbledon Championships are held at theAll England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club at Church Road in London. It is a private members-only club.

Wimbledon is known for keeping its tradition in modern times. Unlike other grand slams that have big logos of sponsors, Wimbledon is very discreet with its advertising – logos are smaller and less prominent.

The main court at Wimbledon, called the Center Court, is only used only during two weeks of the year when the Wimbledon Championships are held.

History Of Wimbledon Championships

1877 – The first Wimbledon Championship was held.  It was an amateur event at the time featuring 22 players. Spencer Gore was the winner

1884 – Ladies’ championship introduced. Men’s doubles championship transferred from Oxford.

1913 – Women’s doubles and mixed doubles competitions were introduced

1927 – Seeding system was introduced

1934 – Fred Perry becomes the first player from Britain to win the singles title. Dorothy Round of Britain wins ladies little (last British double)

1936 – Fred Perry wins his third Wimbledon title

1940-1945: Due to World War II, Wimbledon Championships were canceled

1971 – Tie-break introduced at 8-8 except the deciding set

1976 – Bjorn Borg wins his first Wimbledon title. Tie-break introduced at 6-6 in all sets except the final set.

1977 – Wimbledon lawn tennis museum opened. Virginia Wade wins ladies’ title (last British woman do it).

1980 – Bjorn Borg wins his fifth consecutive Wimbledon title

1985 – At 17 years and 227 days, Boris Becker becomes the youngest ever to win the title. He was also the first unseeded player to win the title.

1990 – Martina Navratilova wins a record 9th singles title

1993 – Pete Sampras wins his first Wimbledon singles title

1994 – Tim Henman is disqualified from Wimbledon after accidentally hitting a ball girl during a doubles match.

1996 – Martina Hingis becomes the youngest ladies champion at 15 years and 282 days

2000 – Pete Sampras wins his seventh Wimbledon singles title

2001 – Goran Ivanisevic becomes the first wild card recipient to win the title.

2002 – Wimbledon introduces grass-court specific seeding system

2003 – Roger Federer wins his first Wimbledon singles title

2007 – Wimbledon awards equal prize money to women. Roger Federer wins his fifth consecutive Wimbledon title.

2009 – Center court gets retractable roof

2010 – John Isner beat Nicholas Mahut 70-68 in 11 hours and 5 minutes – the longest match ever

2011 – Djokovic wins his first Wimbledon title

2012 – Andy Murray wins Olympic gold. The tennis event was held on grass at Wimbledon

2013 – Andy Murray wins Wimbledon, becoming the first British man in 77 years to win the title

2015 – Martina Hingis and Sania Mirza won the women’s doubles title. Mirza became the first-ever Indian to win a women’s doubles Grand Slam.

2016 – Andy Murray wins his second Wimbledon title

2017 – Federer wins his eighth Wimbledon title

2019 – Djokovic wins his fifth Wimbledon title. Tie-break introduced in the deciding set a 12-12. The first player to get to 10 points with a difference of two is the winner.

2021 – Wimbledon abandons grass-specific seeding formula

(Visited 24 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply